Make your own free website on
Some information about Austinburg and our Festival


Some information about Austinburg and our Festival
Events and Contests
Sponsors and Raffle Info
Country Days Photo Album
More photo's of our Country Day's events
Who's who within our Organization and Contact Information
Meetings & Announcements
Links for your convenience

Brief History of Austinburg

Austinburg "The Beginning"

In the late 1700's Austinburg was part of the land known as the Conneticut Reserve and owned by a group of men of the Conneticut Land Company. One of the men was Judge Eliphalet Austin.
Judge Austin was bitten by a mad dog and since there was no cure for rabies at the time, it was assumed this would be fatal. His physician, hoping to divert his mind from his fear recommened that he travel abroad. Instead, he chose to travel too his land holdings in the Western Reserve.
In the spring of 1799, Judge Austin with two other couples and three young hired men began their journey west. They arrived in June and built log cabins, cleared some land, and planted wheat. Austin returned to Conneticut and urged more people to join him when he returned to Austinburg the following year and the actual colonization of the town began.
This hardy group of pioneer believed in the trinity of "home,church and school". From the first Sunday when the usual hour for worship came, all sounds of ax and hammer were stilled and they gathered to hear a sermon read, say prayers and sing hymns. The first services were held in homes, or as the settlement grew, in a barn until the first log cabin church was built. In the summer of 1801, Rev. Joseph Badger, a traveling missionary preached the first sermon in Austinburg. He returned in October and organized the first church on the Western Reserve and the second in Ohio. This congregation cntinues on today s the First United Church of Christ of Austinburg.
Once the settlers had homes built and the church established, they began the schools. The first school was held in Austin's barn and taught by his daughter, Miss Betsey Austin.
Although the first settlers arrived in Austinburg in 1799, it was in 1850 tha the half-century celebration was held in the town. Every 25 years after that celebrations were held, with the largest ones being in 1900 and in 1950.

This year Country Days will be held on
September 6th-7th, 2003 in the Township Park. The park is located directly behind The First United Church of Christ located at 2870 State Route 307, Austinburg, Ohio 44010 


Saturday September 6th.

Parade at Noon on Saturday
Flag Raising
Introduction of Country Elders
Introduction of Country Maiden
Class A Horseshoes
Class B Doubles Horseshoes

Events for children include
Pet Show
Sunflower growing contest
Slow bike race

Antique Car Show
Antique Engine Show & Tractor Pull
Vegetable Growing Contest
Live Music
Craft and Flower Displays at the Grange Hall and sponsored by the Austinburg Garden Club

Chinese Raffle Ticket Sales
Quilt Raffle Ticket Sales

Saturday Chicken Dinner
 Starting at 12:30p.m. food is served untill gone.
Dinner is served at The Grange Hall.

Sunday September 7th

Open Air Church

Events for children include
Frog Jump
Yard Games
Water Battles, with help from The Austinburg Volunteer Fire Department
Greased Pole Climb
Pizza Eating Contest

The Blues Project, which is a local band. This band donates all monies made to HOSPICE. Once, one of the band members cut off his hair that had grown down to his waist. We took highest bidder as to who was going to be the one to do the cutting, and his hair was donated to "Locks of Love"

Sunday Smorgasbord Dinner 12:00 p.m.-3:30 p.m. Dinner held at The First United Church of Christ.

Chinese Raffle Drawing held at 7:00 p.m.

Quilt Raffle Drawing held immediately afterwards

Flag Lowering & Taps

To Sponsor an event or for more information